The life theologic – When life gives you lemonade …

Standard

As my friend, Lauren, would say ‘When life gives you lemonade, make lemons, and life will be all like, WHAT???!!!!’

I’m not sure that I’m going to exchanging the sweetness I’ve been given for something sour anytime soon, and I have been blessed abundantly in the sweetness department lately.  I’m about to embark on a new 6 month adventure in Cape Town, working with a charity called Justice Acts International.  They do amazing work trying to combat human trafficking by researching and deploying tailor made educational programmes to communities at high risk.  I’m so excited to join them in their fight to bring the injustice of human trafficking to an end.  I will hopefully be able to write about some of the work that the charity is getting up to over the next few months, but if you’d like to know more about them in the mean time, check out their website here.

Working with a charity as a volunteer, as I will be, for any length of time is difficult to do, and there was a point during the process when I wasn’t sure that I would be able to.  I had met with the staff that ran the charity, and was convinced that working with them for the next 6 months was right for me, but I only had enough money left to pay for my flight back to South Africa.  I would have nothing to live on once I got there.  So, we took it to God.  We basically said that if this was right, and He wanted me there, working with this charity, then He was going to have to provide a way for me to do it.  2 weeks later I got the biggest shock of my life when I received an email saying that there had been a mistake with one of my student stipends from several years ago, and that I was due 4 years worth of back pay!  God came through in a way I had never expected, and have never experienced before.  Suddenly, my next 6 months were sorted, and now I can go and throw myself into this new adventure without having to worry, because I know He’s got everything under control.

I set off for South Africa once more today, leaving behind the wonderful warmth of my family here in England.  It has been a much needed and very restful break, and I’m going to miss them all, whether they be church family, actual family or friends.  I am definitely going to miss the beautiful English countryside too.  Hopefully one day I can bring some of my new African family of friends to experience it for themselves, but until then they’ll have to make do with this …

IMG_0762

Leave a Reply

