The life theologic – Keeping promises

Standard

Once again, I feel as if I’ve abandoned you all for far too long.  The School of Video Production finished a month ago, but they kept us so busy with projects and assignments every evening and weekend that I didn’t have time to do anything but eat and sleep.  Thankfully, Photography School is much less hectic.  I’ve still been somewhat tied up in the evenings, so apologies once again for the silence, but I should be able to post more regularly again.

In my last post I told you about my decision to switch from Design to Photography, despite having no camera and no money.  Well, I took the leap and switched schools, trusting God for the equipment.  2 months went by, and I had no camera and no money.  The first day of school came around, and I still had no camera and no money, but by now I really really needed one.  We took a trip to the mall and, as luck would have it, took a detour to the camera shop so that another student could collect some prints.  I decided to venture inside with her.

30 minutes later, I surprised myself somewhat by buying a beautiful new DSLR, actually a better model than I ever intended, a Canon 70D.  All I can say is ‘Praise the Lord for credit cards’.  It cost R14,000 and I figured I could maybe afford 1/3 of that price, so I was running on faith that God would come through on His promise.

New Baby

Less than a week later, without telling people about it, I had been given R11,500!!!!!  That covered more than the 2/3’s that I couldn’t afford.  All I can say is that God is amazingly amazingly good and always keeps His promises!

I’ve been so blessed by the Photography School already.  We’re a month in, and I’m loving it so much!  The lecturers have been great, and our school leaders are fantastic.  I even enjoyed learning about Wedding Photography, something I thought I would never find interesting.  Studying different styles of photography is helping me to realise where my strengths lie.  I’m enjoying getting to try some photo journalism and portrait work, but food and nature are what I’m naturally drawn to.  I’m intrigued to see where God is going to take me with this, but the fact that He gave me the camera in the first place is a huge encouragement that I’m probably on the right track, so I’m going to stick with it.

Here are just a few of my favourite shots so far from the school.

SSDP Week 1 (55)Having a go at long exposures one evening …

SSDP Week 4 (39) SSDP Week 3 (26)

Learning about composition and lighting …

SSDP Week 5 (21)Having fun telling stories with kids toys …

SSDP Week 5 (31)Attempting to recreate a portrait of my sister-in-law taken by the incredibly talented Rich Morris … http://www.richmorrisphotography.com/wedding-photography-in-wedmore-lydia-dan/

 

Leave a Reply

