The life artistic – Musseling in on the action

Standard

So, I arrived safely in one of the most beautiful countries on God’s green earth (and it is very green here), and have been staying with my gorgeous and very generous family just up the coast from Durban.  The weather has been beautiful, almost too hot if anything, and I feel like I’ve spent most of the last 2 days either in a swimming pool or in the sea.  The pace of life here is just perfect, although it’s taking me a while to get used to the early mornings.  Just to give a foodie like me an extra thrill, yesterday we decided to pick our own mussels for dinner, and I can say with certainty that the hard work of picking and cleaning only serves to make them taste better!

DSC_0144  DSC_0150

Climbing all over the rocks in search of the fattest mussels we got soaked through by the breaking waves, but it was worth it for the 30 barnacled beauties in our bucket after half an hours hard work.  They took a lot longer than that to clean up, but looked pretty good by the end of it.

DSC_0153  DSC_0157

I really loved the whole experience.  There’s something immensely satisfying about harvesting something yourself, prepping it and cooking it within a few hours.  It also gave me an excuse to get in the sea that had looked so inviting from the house further up the rocks.  The Indian Ocean is pretty salty, but it’s a lot warmer than the Atlantic.  Also, the mussels here are absolute GIANTS.  They really put our British ones to shame.

DSC_0159

We rounded the day off by having the mussels, or should I say moules, marinier with frites.  C’est très bon.

DSC_0160

I’m off to Johannesburg tomorrow for the next stop on the adventure, but I will definitely miss it here, so I’m going to go have a cup of lemon tea and soak up as much of the sea air as I can.

 

Leave a Reply

